Possibility Storm: A Journey

The Beginning

It all started with a crazy friend, with a crazier idea during Return to Ravnica/Theros standard. A terrible idea at that, but one that would blossom into something I would come to appreciate very much in the time to come. The idea was making Possibility Storm a reality. And so it began.

The Pilot Showing

unnex-resu

The original idea revolved around a little bit of good RNG. The premise was as follows:

You keeping up? Good, because this was the simplest, most tuned and final product of said friend’s brewing in standard. For anyone interested, here’s the decklist:

The rest of the deck was filled with ramp and cards that would stall the game until you can go off, along with card filtering effects. It was sweet, although at the end of the day not consistent enough to really put up great results. So naturally, my friend turned to perhaps the most unforgiving format of all to have another crack at his beloved creation. He turned to Modern.

Testing

enter-infi

There were a lot of directions he could have gone to try and abuse Possibility Storm in Modern, but all of them pointed towards casting Emrakul, the Aeons Torn for “free”. Ramp strategieswere played around with, storm strategies, even midrange saw the limelight for a while, but all in all (thankfully) he was a control player at heart, and so couldn’t resist the call of Remand and Cryptic Command.

Next was colour selection. With Possibility Storm being red the deck needed to include, well, red. And who plays a true control deck without blue, along with a grip full of counterspells and card draw? So that left him with UR. Here’s what he came up with:

When I first saw him pilot this I knew it was something I had to be a part of. It was elegant, yet complex, and the thought process that happens whilst playing the deck is incredible. The are so many different lines you can take, any of which could spell your doom, and since you have no (hard cast-able) creatures in the deck there’s no back up plan. If I had my pickings of any match to watch if my round finished early, this would be my go to.

Then Nahiri, the Harbinger was printed. This is where I come in.

The Harbinger of Possibilities

nahir-harb

Once I clapped eyes on Nahiri it was almost too good to be true. That ultimate was all too enticing for me to say no. At this point my friend had unfortunately taken a break from Magic to pursue other hobbies, but I felt the flag must be borne!

Nahiri was the piece of the puzzle that had gone missing behind the sofa. She tied the deck together, bringing not only another win condition that synergised with the rest of the deck, but she also brought removal for things that were before awkward to deal with, and another way to cycle Emrakul never goes amiss.

I spent hours looking at deck lists on Jeskai control, and finally settled on a starting list. It didn’t go well. I was new to control, so that didn’t help, but worse was that the balance between counterspells, cantrips and removal was all wrong, and I somehow died before I even saw a Storm almost every game.

The Late Game

deso-ligh

Eventually, a few FNMs and countless solitaire sessions in front of the SCG Tour, it was getting there. The balance was starting to even out and I was steadily getting the hang of control.

Then all of a sudden it clicked, and I won an FNM.

It was like a miracle had happened. It felt so damned good to have finally broken though with it. Then it happened again, and then again, and I couldn’t believe it. Sure, it’s hardly like I’d won a Pro Tour, or even a PPTQ for that matter, but after putting so much effort into getting it right it had paid off.

Here’s the list I’ve settled on for now:

I love playing this deck, and even though I’m known amongst my friends as the midrange guy, this has a special place.

I Suppose I Ought To Put A Point To All Of This

poss-sto

To be honest, I love talking about things I have a passion for. The decks I write about I choose because I love that they exist, and no reason more. To be a better player is obviously something I strive for, but when it comes down to it the love of the game is what it’s all about.

I hope you enjoyed reading this as much as I did writing it. Deck tech on its way.

Stay possible.

DB.

One thought on “Possibility Storm: A Journey

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

